Saturday, January 30, 2010

Awards 2009: Living Composer - Instrumental

Nørgård: Symphonies nos.3 & 7
Danish National Symphony Orchestra/Thomas Dausgaard

Nørgård, as Richard Whitehouse tells us in IRR, "has long been established as the leading Danish composer and is increasingly regarded among the seminal figures of post-war music. His latest symphony is included on the present release, along with one whose aesthetic shock-waves continue to reverberate over three decades after its prèmiere.... this disc sets a new standard for the interpretation of his orchestral music". On Classics Today, David Hurwitz says of the composer, "His music has exuberance, brilliance, and the freedom from inhibition or routine that we expect of a true symphonist in this post-Mahlerian age... If you're looking for some really good contemporary music, challenging but rewarding, full of personality and integrity, then this powerfully engineered production offers a perfect opportunity to satisfy your craving".

Carter: Piano music. Ursula Oppens [Cedille]
Daugherty: Fire & Blood; MotorCity Triptych; Raise the Roof. Ida Kavafian; Brian Jones; Detroit Symphony Orchestra/Neeme Järvi [Naxos]
"For David". David Russell [Telarc]
David Matthews: Symphonies nos.1, 3 & 5. BBC National Orchestra of Wales/Martyn Brabbins [Dutton]

No comments: